Sō Percussion: Trilogy

Reich, Dessner, Lang

July 28

Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse

165 West 65th Street

Through a mix of consummate skill and quirky charm, this mercurial quartet has helped to ignite an explosive new enthusiasm for percussion music old and new.”

New York Times on Sō Percussion

Bryce Dessner’s most adventurous work.”

Pitchfork on Music for Wood and Strings

Eric Cha-Beach, Josh Quillen, Adam Sliwinski, and Jason Treuting

  • Steve Reich: Music for Pieces of Wood
  • Bryce Dessner: Music for Wood and Strings*
  • David Lang: The so-called laws of nature*

The “smart and dazzling” new-music quartet (Village Voice) kicks off their series with a stunning collection of music by three of today’s top living composers.

Shifting patterns rise and fall in hypnotic arcs in Steve Reich’s exuberant Music for Pieces of Wood (1973), performed entirely on pitched claves. A clear homage to Reich’s piece, Bryce Dessner’s atmospheric Music for Wood and Strings suspends similarly intricate patterns in clouds of reverb. The evening culminates in David Lang’s breakthrough percussion quartet, The so-called laws of nature, which reveals an entirely new realm of music through a whimsical orchestra of invented instruments, many constructed by the performers themselves.

Also in This Series

Xenakis, Ergun, Trueman

Cage, Lansky, Mackey

View Packages

* Commissioned by Sō Percussion

Venue Accessibility

  • Large-print programs
  • Braille programs
  • Wheelchair-accessible seating
  • Assistive listening devices

For questions about accessibility or to request an accommodation, please contact access@lincolncenter.org or 212.875.5375.
For ticketing information and general questions, please call 212.721.6500.