Sō Percussion: Trilogy

Cage, Lansky, Mackey

July 30

Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse

165 West 65th Street

Smart and dazzling.”

Village Voice on Sō Percussion

This is a piece that is a feast for the eyes as well as a bedazzling battery for the ears…meditation on the ephemeral nature of our existence”

Sequenza 21 on It is Time

  • John Cage: Third Construction
  • Paul Lansky: Threads*
  • Steven Mackey: It Is Time*

Creatively used found objects, exotic artifacts, and traditional instruments expand the sound palette in pieces by three ingenious composers.

The earliest piece planned for Sō Percussion’s trilogy of concerts, John Cage’s Third Construction from 1942, represents a landmark in composing for percussion. Here, instruments from around the world—including rattles, drums, tin cans, claves, cowbells, lion’s roar, cymbal, ratchet, teponaxtle, quijades, cricket caller, and conch shell—are arranged and re-arranged into various combinations to create an astonishing array of colors and rhythms. The second piece, Paul Lansky’s Threads, is one of the most popular works ever written for percussion ensemble. Structured like a Baroque cantata, it swings between moments of intense delicacy and ecstatic drumming. Finally, the four mini-concertos of Steve Mackey’s It Is Time marshal the virtuosity of the individual members of Sō Percussion to speed up, slow down, warp, celebrate, and mourn our perceptions of time.

Also in This Series

Reich, Dessner, Lang

Xenakis, Ergun, Trueman

View Packages

* Commissioned by Sō Percussion

Venue Accessibility

  • Large-print programs
  • this one has special text
  • Wheelchair-accessible seating
  • Assistive listening devices

For questions about accessibility or to request an accommodation, please contact access@lincolncenter.org or 212.875.5375.
For ticketing information and general questions, please call 212.721.6500.